best F1 drivers in history
Spread the love

The hall of fame with the best F1 drivers has the peculiarity that its members are known throughout the world, even if we are not fans of motor racing. We share the best F1 drivers in history.

You probably know them all ‘by the name’ but you don’t know what their victories, their records, and their prizes have been. Therefore, in this article, we want to honor the best F1 drivers in history. Get to know them!

Who are the best F1 drivers in history?

Since its creation in 1950, Formula 1 has given many memorable pilots. Even if we are not fans of this motorsport, we have surely heard of them. Next, we tell you about the best F1 drivers of all time:

1. Michael Schumacher

To think about motor racing is to imagine Schumacher … and more if we talk about the Ferrari team. This German ex-pilot born in 1969 is the most successful in the entire history of Formula 1: he has been crowned champion seven times: five with Ferrari and two with Benetton.

In addition, he is the pilot with the most points if we consider the current system: 3890. The records of ‘Schumi’ do not end there since in his career he has accumulated 91 wins and 155 podiums. He debuted in F1 in 1991 and retired in 2012. A year later, he suffered a serious skiing accident, which has complicated his health.

2. Alain Prost

The Frenchman, born in 1955, is one of the best F1 drivers in history, since throughout his career – he completed between 1980 and 1993 – he won 51 wins, 106 podiums, and 4 world championships. He starred in a very strong rivalry with the Brazilian Ayrton Senna, considered even greater than that of Niki Lauda and James Hunt.

One of Prost’s main characteristics was its detail. It is said that his driving style is the one taught in pilot schools, traditional but effective. He was known on the slopes as ‘the teacher’, precisely for this reason.

3. Juan Manuel Fangio

Fans of ‘old’ motoring, to call it somehow, know who Fangio was, one of the best of all time. Born in Argentina in 1911, he was champion five times, all during the fifties.

He abandoned studies to devote himself to automobile mechanics and debuted in his country in 1938. From there he continued to climb positions until he reached the maximum appointment, F1. The ‘crooked’, as he was nicknamed, won 24 wins, 35 podiums, 29 pole positions, and 23 fast laps.

He participated in 51 Grand Prix and maintained his record of the maximum winner until he was displaced by Schumacher in 2003. He retired in 1958 and died in 1995.

4. Ayrton Senna

His brief life reached him to enter the F1 Hall of Fame and world sport. Senna was born in Brazil in 1960 and won the world championships three times: 1988, 1990 and 1991. He accumulated 41 victories – he was the top winner of the Monaco Grand Prix, 6 times – 65 pole positions and 80 podiums.

Ayrton Senna was known for his speed and his somewhat ‘aggressive’ technique. He died during the San Marino Grand Prix in 1994, due to a crash in the Tamburello curve. He was only 34 years old and his country was three days of mourning. After his death, security measures increased in F1 races.

5. Niki Lauda

This is another of the best F1 drivers in history, recently deceased, that could not be missing in this list. Niki Lauda was Austrian and was champion of Formula 1 on three occasions: 1975, 1977 and 1984. In addition, he accumulated 25 wins and 54 podiums in the 177 races he played.

Lauda suffered a serious accident at the 1976 German Grand Prix, which caused burns and scars that would accompany him for the rest of his life. Although he was on the verge of death, he returned to the slopes only six weeks later. He retired in 1985 but remained linked to motor racing as a technical advisor and television commentator for F1.

To complete the top 10 best F1 drivers of all time, we have to name the German Sebastian Vettel (still active, already has four titles), the Brazilian Emerson Fittipaldi (won two championships in the 70s), the British Lewis Hamilton (with five titles and is still a pilot), the Mexican Pedro Rodríguez (died in a race in 1971, with 31 years, had two world titles) and the Australian Jack Brabham (champion three times between 1959 and 1966).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *